The Student Playlist

Showcasing the Best New Music, Curating the Classics

PLAYLIST: July 2018

To summarise July 2018, then – it’s too disgustingly hot to even think of doing anything; Brexit now means food riots; and football’s staying out for a bit longer.

It’s at times like this that, more than ever, we need music to be an escape hatch, if not actually a vehicle for change. Fortunately, July offered an absolute bonanza in terms of exciting new music to look forward to later in 2018.

Amid a glut of absolutely stonking singles, like Lizzo’s brilliant ‘Boys’ and Robyn’s long-awaited return, there’s been lots of new album news, the biggest of which came with Muse at last confirming that their eighth album will be released before the year is out, delivering a third single from it called ‘Something Human’ after its first single arrived more than 12 months ago. British group Drenge delivered a brand new single from a prospective third album; rock-indie-pop nerds The Lemon Twigs teased a second album; and American indie balladeer John Grant teased his fourth album Love Is Magic. Former Mercury winners Alt-J announced a foray into hip-hop with a remix album of last year’s Relaxer, dropping a version of ‘Deadcrush’ with Danny Brown.

After being tipped as big new things for what seems like forever, Estrons finally delivered news of their debut album. The magnificent Scottish indie miserablists The Twilight Sad announced a new track from what we hope will be a fifth album; American punk act Joyce Manor released a new track, and Chance The Rapper dropped no less than four new songs, just days after he had gotten everybody unnecessarily excited about a possible surprise album. Following up ‘This Is America’, Childish Gambino (the rap persona of hot property Donald Glover) gave us a special brace of summer-themed songs.

Dev Hynes’ Blood Orange project is getting fired up again; Chan Marshall is releasing her first new Cat Power album in six years; British rave legends The Prodigy are returning after a comparatively short three year gap, and London soul/dance collective Jungle finally found the keys to the studio and announced their second album, for which we’ve been waiting four years.

Oh, and if that wasn’t enough, Super Furries’ frontman Gruff Rhys released a lovely stand-alone single ‘No Profit In Pain’ to mark the 70th anniversary of the National Health Service!

Below is our Spotify playlist of all the best new music released in July 2018!

Happy listening!

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.